Picture
Apparently there is some really fine print in my marriage contract that says the barbeque is the strict domain of the husband and that the side dishes are my responsibility. This is fine by me; let the hubby stand over the grill, working up a sweat, acting all manly, while I work away in the house where there is air conditioning and no bugs. And when I say work, what I really mean is toss together a few things, let the flavors come together in the fridge while I read a book or something. I like to keep it simple but not make it look like I did so.

This Asian coleslaw is not only super easy but allergy-friendly as well; it is glutenfree, dairy-free and thanks to Sunbutter, nut-free. Since it doesn’t contain any mayonnaise it is great for eating outdoors.

So whether you are manning the grill or “slaving away” over the side dishes this Memorial Day, I wish you a fun and safe holiday!


Asian Cole Slaw

Ingredients

3 tablespoons Creamy Sunbutter
6 tablespoons grapeseed (or other neutral tasting) oil
½ teaspoon sesame oil
¼ cup rice vinegar
1 tablespoon honey
2 teaspoons gluten-free, wheat free soy sauce
1 – 1 pound bag tri-color coleslaw mix (or 4 cups shredder cabbage and ½ cup shredded carrots)
Kosher or fine sea salt & pepper
2 green onions, finely sliced
1 teaspoon sesame seeds

Directions

In a large mixing bowl combine the Sunbutter, grapeseed oil, rice vinegar, honey and soy sauce, whisk together until smooth. Add the coleslaw mix and toss to combine. Taste and adjust seasoning with salt and pepper if needed. Refrigerate until serving time, up to 4 hours. Garnish with sliced green onions and sesame seeds.

Makes 6 glutenfreeRecipe servings.

Article Source: http://simplygluten-free.com/blog/2011/05/gluten-free-nut-free-asian-coleslaw.html





Leave a Reply.