Picture

While my husband was outside making fire, fighting off mosquitoes the size of hummingbirds and being a he-man at the barbeque today, I was in the house doing “the woman’s work” of making side dishes and dessert for Memorial Day.

I know I should be offended by this concept that my hubby is the only one in the family capable of manning the grill but let me tell you a secret, I would so rather stay inside, nice and cool, bug-free and look like I am working hard, taking lots of credit when in fact nothing could be further from the truth. I am all about simple with lots of “WOW” factor.

Take this cool and refreshing  dessert, just the thing after a heavy meal. It is a glutenfree, dairy-free, honey panna cotta. It seems fancy-schmancy, but in fact, it takes just a few minutes of active work and the rest of the time, the fridge does all the work for you!

In this recipe the honey is not only the sweetener but the flavoring agent so it is important to use good honey – I used Fair Trade Organic Amber Honey from Wholesome Sweeteners. I also used almond milk but you can use any kind of milk you like. Topped with a handful of sweet/tart berries and another drizzle of honey, this dessert is a symphony of tastes and textures.

OK, off to make myself look tired (I am going to have to work at it, I’ve been loafing all day!) and then to accept kudos for my lovely dessert. Can we keep just how easy it was to ourselves?  Thanks!

Honey Panna Cotta Recipe

Ingredients

3 tablespoons water
1 packet (2.5 ounces) unflavored gelatin
2 cups almond milk
1/3 cup honey plus more for serving
Pinch of kosher or fine sea salt
1 pint berries
6 mint springs for garnish, optional

Directions

In a small bowl, stir together the water and gelatin and let sit for 5 minutes. Meanwhile put the almond milk, honey and salt in a medium saucepan and bring just to a boil over medium-high heat. Microwave the gelatin for 10 second on high power and stir into the milk/honey mixture.

Lightly oil six 4 ounce ramekins and then ladle the milk/honey mixture into them. Refrigerate until cold and firm, about 4 hours.

To un-mold, run a sharp knife around the edge of each ramekin and place in a bowl of very warm water for 10 – 15 seconds. Place a plate on top of the ramekin and invert. Scatter some berries around the panna cotta and drizzle with some additional honey.

Serves 6 glutenfree people.

Want to know more about your favorite Gluten Free Recipe; with our range of Gluten Free Recipes which are made from Gluten Free raw material feel free to visit us at: http://www.simplygluten-free.com

Article Source : http://simplygluten-free.com/blog/2011/05/gluten-free-honey-panna-cotta.html





Leave a Reply.