Chicken and broccoli gluten free recipe. Broccoli and chicken gluten free recipe. {sigh} Healthy, convenient and inexpensive sure, but also kind of boring! Alas! As I opened my fridge, all I saw was chicken and broccoli. Fortunately I have a well-stocked gluten free pantry and was able to turn boring into, well…. amazing.
There is a little Thai restaurant close by to me that I love; the food is great and for the most part gluten free, they keep a bottle of gluten free soy sauce on hand for me in case I order sushi and the atmosphere is friendly and homey. As much as I love it, I don’t always want to go out when I have a hankering for my favorite meal there – Amazing Chicken.

With a little espionage (saying things like “this is so delicious, what goes into the recipe?”) and experimenting I came up with my own version of Amazing Chicken that I can get on the table in less time than it takes to get into the car, drive to the Thai place  – and for considerably less money!

The main ingredient in most Thai Amazing Chicken is peanut butter but I decided to make my recipe nut-free with Sunbutter, a peanut butter alternative made with roasted sunflower seeds. I have grown to really love the depth of flavor it adds to sauces. I used the natural crunch version, but any of their varieties would work just as well.

This recipe is not just gluten free, nut free, soy free and dairy free, quick and easy to prepare, and healthy as all get out, it is also (wait for it…) AMAZING!

The lesson here? Chicken and broccoli does not have to be boring if you have a well-stocked pantry!



Gluten Free Nut Free Thai Amazing Chicken

Ingredients

½ cup Sunbutter
3 tablespoons gluten free Thai fish sauce
Juice of 1 fresh lime
4 tablespoons honey (or agave nectar)
¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (more or less depending on how much kick you want)
½ cup water
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced or grated with a microplane grater
1 inch fresh ginger, peeled and finely grated or mined
Kosher or fine sea salt and pepper
2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts (3 or 4 half breasts) – cut into 1 inch pieces
8 cups broccoli florets
1 teaspoon sesame seeds – optional garnish

Directions

Combine the Sunbutter, fish sauce, lime juice honey (or agave) red pepper flakes and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring until smooth. Remove from the heat and set aside.

Heat the oil in a large skillet with a lid over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and ginger and toss in the oil for about 15 seconds. Add the chicken pieces and cook, stirring frequently, until browned on all sides, about 8 minutes. Add the broccoli, stir to coat, cover the pan and reduce the heat to medium. Cook until the broccoli is crisp tender and the chicken is cooked through – about 3 more minutes.

Add about ¼ of the Sunbutter sauce to the chicken and broccoli, toss to coat, place in a serving dish and sprinkle with sesame seeds if desired. Serve the rest of the sauce on the side.

Serve with rice or gluten free rice noodles.

A gluten free recipe that serves 6.

Ready for dessert?

Simply…Gluten-Free Desserts is now available, with over 135 recipes not featured in my blog.

Available at bookstores including Barnes & Noble, Borders, Powells, Books-a-Million and Amazon. You can get it also HERE.

Resource :

http://simplygluten-free.com/blog/2012/02/gluten-free-thai-amazing-chicken-recipe.html



Leave a Reply.