I love a good burger (sans bun of course!). I have fond memories of going to the pool at the Officer’s Club at Naha Air and Naval Base in Okinawa and ordering huge, juicy burgers loaded with ketchup, mustard, tomatoes, pickles and onions, eating them by the pool with the juices dripping down my arms, the sounds of happy kids splashing away and the occasion shriek from some one being pushed off the high dive by the rowdy boys in the background while the sun beat down on us and a gentle breeze stirred the air. Of course charging them to my Dad’s account at the O Club was pretty cool too.

My vegetarian sister, Karen, ironically sent us a big box filled with meat products for Christmas so I have been enjoying lots of burger lunches lately.

While there is nothing wrong with ketchup and mustard (except possibly all the sugar in the ketchup) sometimes I like something a little more sophisticated on my burger. This is an easy little topping just packed with flavor. I add a touch of Chilpotle Puree for some heat. That recipe follows. The Chilpotle Puree is hot so judge accordingly when adding.

Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

Ingredients

1 large roasted red pepper (from a jar, packed in water) – pat dry
¼ teaspoon Chilpotle Puree – or more or less depending on your heat tolerance
Pinch salt & pepper
½ teaspoon balsamic vinegar
½ teaspoon agave syrup

Directions

Put everything into a small food processor or blender and whirl for a few seconds until blended and fairly smooth. Taste for seasoning. Great on burgers, chicken or fish.

Chipotle Puree

(Taken form the cook book “Seriously Simple” by Dianne Rossen Worthington. I keep this in my fridge at all times and use is for topping everything from hummus to mango sorbet.)
Ingredients

1 – 7 ounce can Chilpotle in adobo sauce
Directions

Pour the chilies and their sauce into a food processor and process until smooth. Place in airtight container, cover and refrigerate.
This gluten free recipe makes a great condiment!

Simply…Gluten-Free recipes is now available, with over 135 recipes not featured in my blog.

Available at bookstores including Barnes & Noble, Borders, Powells, Books-a-Million and Amazon. You can get it also HERE.

Resource :
http://simplygluten-free.com/blog/2008/01/roasted-red-pepper-sauce.html



Leave a Reply.